After a long Friday and Saturday our weekend is not over yet.  It seemed like a long weekend but it was a great experience.  Just to fill you in, our pastor and his wife were celebrating their 9th wedding anniversary (congratulations) and we were asked to come and watch their two wonderful kids, Karis (3) and Noah (10 months).  For Rebecca and I this was a welcomed service, we did not hesitate to say yes, and Rebecca (the thinker) immediately offered our house to stay to save them a hotel bill.  We also did not want them to have to deal with our 4 month old puppy, Piper, so we left him with Rebecca’s parents in Goldsboro.  Overall the things I have learned after such a great weekend are this:

1. My wife is going to be a GREAT mother.

2. Justin and Jeanna are amazing parents and are great examples of how to keep the gospel central to their home life.

3. I assumed that Piper was a handful but comparatively he is NOTHING.  At this point I am grateful to only have to take care of my wife and Piper.

4. I have come to the conclusion that I have a lot of maturing to do before become a parent.  I found a lot of selfishness still harboring within and I am praying that Christ will continually change my heart in this aspect.

Tomorrow our church is going to celebrate Communion together.  I seldom cherished this celebration and when I reminisce on other churches that have glossed over this I am truly grateful.  Christ Baptist has been a gift that God has blessed me and my family with and I constantly find myself wondering why I have been allowed to serve at such a healthy, scriptural church.

But whatever gain I had, I counted as loss for the sake of Christ.  Indeed, I count everything as loss because of the surpassing worth of knowing Christ Jesus my Lord. For his sake I have suffered the loss of all things and count them as rubbish, in order that I may gain Christ and be found in him, not having a righteousness of my own that comes from the law, but that which comes through faith in Christ, the righteousness from God that depends on faith— that I may know him and the power of his resurrection, and may share his sufferings, becoming like him in his death

In Christ,

Chris

